Day 6 of LJB Cookie Week… Robert’s Chocolate Cookies!

 

This recipe cracks me up every time I make it, because I don’t know who Robert is!  I was given this recipe by one of my Mom’s best friends, Karen, who is a fabulous cook and an excellent cookie maker.  The title was “Robert’s Chocolate Cookies” and remains that to this day.  Even though I probably could rename it to something like “Chocolate Decadence Cookies” or “Devine Chocolate Cookies”, I just can’t… like I said, because it continues to rouse a chuckle when I pull out the recipe.  So, thank you Robert, whoever you are… from one chocolaholic to another… thank you for this delicious recipe!!!!

 

Robert’s Chocolate Cookies

 

  • 6 ounces unsweetened premium quality baking chocolate (I use Guittard)
  • 4 ounces semi-sweet premium quality chips (Guittard again)
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • ¼ teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs at room temperature
  • 1 1/3 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons Starbucks VIA finely ground coffee  (a little less than an envelope)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ½ cup walnut pieces (optional)

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

 

Place unsweetened chocolate and butter in microwave safe bowl and melt together and 30 second intervals, stirring at each interval until melted.  Set aside.

 

In small bowl combine flour, baking powder and salt.

 

With electric mixer, beat eggs, sugar, coffee and vanilla until pale and thick (about5 minutes).  By hand, stir in chocolate mixture, using a rubber spatula.  Then gently stir in the flour mixture, followed by the chocolate chips and nuts.  Cover and refrigerate till firm (one hour or up to 4 days)

 

Drop level tablespoons (I use a small cookie scoop) onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake for 8-12 minutes, until cookies are puffed, dry and cracked on the surface, but soft and gooey within.

One thought on “Day 6 of LJB Cookie Week… Robert’s Chocolate Cookies!

  1. Pingback: Stacey’s Meltaway Cookies « Lucy Jane's Best

Leave a comment