Salted Caramel Brownie Cookies

Ok, to say that I have been obsessed with salted caramel over the past several months would be an understatement. I think about it, I dream about it, I want it all the time! I love the sweet taste of caramel with the distinct saltiness of sea salt at the end. I love the sweet and savory! I want it on cupcakes, custards, yogurts, milkshakes, breads, treats, you name it!

So, this cookie turned into a little salted caramel, chocolate, heaven on earth type dessert. Chewy brownie cookies with a creamy, salted caramel filling, I could die right now and be just fine! It happens to be the best thing that I have tasted in a long time. I tested it out on my Dad and my husband and both said,”winner!” And since I am in such a giving mood, I want you to have it, too!

Salted Caramel Brownie Cookies 

For the Cookie:

  • 12 ounces dark chocolate, chopped
  • 3 Tablespoons butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼  cup flour, sifted
  • ¼  teaspoon baking powder, sifted

For the salted caramel creme filling

  • 1 cup butter (2 sticks), softened
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • ¼ cup caramel sauce (I used Nestle’s La Lechera-Dulce de Leche)
  • ½  teaspoon sea salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place butter in a saucepan over low heat and gently stir until melted. Add 7 ounces of chocolate and stir until smooth. Set aside to cool slightly.

In a stand up mixer, combine, eggs, sugar and vanilla and beat for 15 minutes or until pale and creamy. (The extreme beating gives this cookie its great texture! So set your timer!) Add in flour, baking powder, melted chocolate mixture, remaining 5 ounces of chocolate and mix just to combine. (Don’t over mix.)  Chill batter for 10 minutes. Dough should still be slightly gooey, but not watery.

Spoon 2 tablespoonful of the mixture, onto parchment lined jelly roll pan. Bake for 8–10 minutes or until puffed and cracked. Allow to cool completely on pans before transferring to a wire rack.

Caramel creme filling and assembly:

Place butter in a bowl and beat until fluffy., about 4 minutes. Mix in powdered sugar and salt, add in caramel and beat until smooth and creamy.

Spread or pipe the frosting in between two cookies. Sandwich them together.

Yields 12 large cookies

4 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Brownie Cookies

  1. Pingback: Decisions, Decisions.

  2. Pingback: Salted Caramel Brownie Cookies and Orange Food | sharissespieces

Leave a comment