You Don’t Want to Know Dip

I must confess something. I had never made this dip until this weekend. But just in case you don’t know, Shannon and I are trying to publish a cookbook soon. We are doing this blog to give you a taste of what will be in that cookbook. Shannon and I have spent many hours filing through our recipes and deciding which ones are worthy to go into the cookbook. This is Shannon’s recipe. And it kept coming to my mind because when we first met to discuss recipes she said that this one had to go in the cookbook. I asked her what was in it that made it so great and she proclaimed “You don’t want to know!” So, I finally called her this weekend and said, “I must know what is in that dip because I want to take it to a party.” One of my good friends was having a housewarming party and all we were required to bring was an appetizer, a good appetizer. With recipe in hand, I went to the grocery store and bought all the necessary ingredients. All the while wondering if it really was cookbook worthy. Guess what? It is!  I loved it, the hubs loved it, the party people loved it and even the babysitter loved it! (I made her her own bowl) With so many holiday parties coming up, this will be a perfect appetizer to take and knock everyones socks off! It is spicy, creamy, warm and delish! So it is with great pleasure I give you the  cookbook worthy “You Don’t Want to Know Dip” recipe!

You Don’t Want to Know Dip

  • 2 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 1  1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 (4 ounce) can of diced jalapenos
  • 1 (4 ounce) jar of pimientos
  • 1 jar of dried beef, sliced and cubed  (comes in a small jelly-like jar. I found it next to the SPAM)
  • 1 bunch of green onions, diced
  • 1 large bread bowl
  • Bag of Frito’s Scoops

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cut the top out of your bread bowl. Then empty out the bread. Set aside. In a medium mixing bowl combine cheddar cheese, sour cream, jalapenos, pimientos, dried beef, and green onions. Pour it all in! Juice and everything! Pour mixture into your empty bread bowl. Replace the top and wrap in foil. Bake for 1 1/2-2 hours. Serve warm with Frito Scoops.

Linking up at: Skip to My Lou, C.R.A.F.T., DIY Home Sweet Home Project, Craftomaniac, The Girl Creative, Add a Pinch, Singing Three Little Birds, Sumo’s Sweet Stuff, Coastal Charm, Sew Chatty, Sugarbee Crafts, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, Chef In Training, It’s a Blog Party, The Blackberry Vine, Strictly Homemade, Naptime Creations, All the Small Stuff, Sew Much Ado, Blue Cricket Design, This Chick Cooks, Dittle Dattle, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Gingersnap Crafts, Miz Helen’s Country Cottage, Feeding Four, Somewhat Simple, Someday Crafts, The Shabby Creek Cottage, The How to Mommy, Stuff and Nonsense, Happy Hour Projects, Simply Sweet Home, Jane Deere, Serenity You, Six Sisters Stuff, I Heart Naptime, Everyday Mom’s Meals, Mom’s Crazy Cooking

12 thoughts on “You Don’t Want to Know Dip

    • Thank you for the feature Anabella! I love that your blog is in Spanish and English! And you made so many good finds this week! Thanks for sharing!

  1. I love the addition of the Dried Beef to your dip, it will give it a great flavor. My very best wishes to you and your family for a blessed Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you again real soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a comment